Wednesday, January 13, 2010

UK 3rd Offshore Wind Round

32.2 GW of potential new capacity has been identified under the Crown Estate's programme. From the Crown Estate website:

The developers who have signed exclusivity zone agreements are:

1. Moray Firth zone, Moray Offshore Renewables Ltd which is 75% owned by EDP Renovaveis and 25% owned by SeaEnergy Renewables – 1.3 GW

2. Firth of Forth zone, SeaGreen Wind Energy Ltd equally owned by SSE Renewables and Fluor – 3.5 GW

3. Dogger Bank zone, the Forewind Consortium equally owned by each of SSE Renewables, RWE Npower Renewables, Statoil and Statkraft – 9 GW

4. Hornsea zone, Siemens Project Ventures and Mainstream Renewable Power, a consortium equally owned by Mainstream Renewable Power and Siemens Project Ventures and involving Hochtief Construction – 4 GW

5. Norfolk Bank zone, East Anglia Offshore Wind Ltd equally owned by Scottish Power Renewables and Vattenfall Vindkraft – 7.2 GW

6. Hastings zone, Eon Climate and Renewables UK – 0.6 GW

7. West of Isle of Wight zone, Eneco New Energy – 0.9 GW

8. Bristol Channel zone, RWE Npower Renewables, the UK subsidiary of RWE Innogy – 1.5 GW

9. Irish Sea zone, Centrica Renewable Energy and involving RES Group – 4.2 GW

The clear winners, as shown in the graph above, are the big 6 utilities (except for Eon and especially EdF who are complete absent), plus Vattenfall, which is increasingly becoming a member of the big 6.